Jodhpur

Previously

I just spent a few days in Udaipur seeing some palaces and hanging out with friends!

Udaipur

Road Trip to Jodhpur

I woke up in the middle of the night in my clothes and on the lower bunk, another guest had come and I was in his bed. I moved up to my bunk and saw on my phone by text that our cab was booked for the morning. I packed up my stuff at 6:40 and we got our driver at 8 am. We drove to Kumbalgarh Fort, a massive fort on the way to Jodhpur. I was able to get the local price again saving me a good amount of money, my friends were pretty jealous. I found the fort to be interesting but nothing special, especially after the other forts Iā€™ve seen. We explored and had lunch after, and then there was a good spot to take photos behind. Nearby there were some kids playing cricket and Mike and I wanted to join. The kids let Mike take a few hits and run but for some reason they were being so savage to me. They let me hit once and it was a bad pitch and I missed and they wouldnā€™t let me hit again! They were also chirping me for not knowing Hindi, it was unbelievable!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We then made our way to Ranakpur Jain temple but we had to buy tickets to enter which I think is stupid for any place of worship. Mike was able to sneak in somehow though. They also wanted money for using our cameras but I hid mine when entering. The temple was really cool inside with its architecture and we checked it out for a bit.

After we drove to Jodhpur which took quite a while. During the drive, our driver recorded a video of us with his phone which was really weird. When it got dark he played a movie on his phone and set it up at the front but it was a dumb movie so I watched Brooklyn 99 on my phone. We got to Jodhpur and Mike and I went to HosteLavie while the other guys went to their hostel. Mike and I went out for dinner for Thali before going back to the hostel to sleep.

My Day in Jodhpur

After a rough nightā€™s sleep, I booked my train ticket from Jaipur to Mathura for Holi. We checked out of our hostel and got a samosas breakfast with Dan and then went to a well-known sweet shop to sample numerous Indian sweets. After we went to the main fort, Mehrangarh Fort but only Dan bought a ticket. Dan and Mike managed to go past the exit sign, but the guard wouldn’t let me through. They came back out so none of us were in now. Dan went through the entrance with his ticket while Mike and I were figuring out what to do. The guard went to the bathroom so we went through the exit, explored the fort and met up with Dan! We continued in the museum going backwards through it but soon after we reached a point where a guard doesn’t let us through, so we left. We then went to some other temple very quickly to take pictures and then the area of Jodhpur with blue buildings (Jodhpur is known as the blue city). It was cool to see but pretty quick. We got lunch at a restaurant with a great view of the fort and city, unfortunately I wasn’t feeling great, so I only had a salad for the first time ever.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I realized there was not much else to do in Jodhpur and decided to leave tonight to Jaisalmer with Dan and Mike. I went to a travel agency and got a ticket for the train tonight. The three of us then grabbed beers at a shop outside and Mike wanted to drink on the street and has a beer bottle wrapped in newspaper which was pretty funny. The locals said there are problems if the cops see you drink in public though. Mike went on his own to get a haircut and Dan and I went to his hostel rooftop to drink. It was a really chill spot and the owner was really nice. The owner also organizes camel safaris in Jaisalmer and tried to sell us for it. We decided not to go with it because it would just be the three of us and we wanted to have a group of travelers to go with. The rooftop was nice, and I had a great mutton curry dinner while we hung out with a German couple.

IMG_4168
Train to Jaisalmer!

I then got back to my hostel to pack up my stuff and then met up with Dan and Mike to take a tuk tuk to the train station. We took a night train to Jaisalmer which was an interesting experience. I was on the middle bunk with a bed above and below me. I locked up my big bag to the pole near my feet with a bike lock which made it pretty tight to sleep. My seat was also gross with stains, so I had to put a blanket underneath me. The train ride also got cold with a window open right by my head and it also being pretty noisy. I had to use an extra blanket and ear plugs I luckily had on me.

Next

Up next is our Camel Safari in the desert! It was an unbelievable and unique experience I hope everyone can try at some point in their life!

The Overnight Desert Safari

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close